Historical

The Origins of the Gourville Estate

Ammonites ramassées dans les champs au début des années 1900.

Ammonites Found in the Fields Early in the 1900s.

If Gourville had existed over 30 million years ago, it would have been a seaside resort: in fact, the sea rose to the shore of Longroi, a few kilometers from here. We could also step further back in time, since ammonites were once found by cultivators ploughing their calcareous soils, none too far from Gourville. The ammonites (large fossilized marine shells) are over a 100 million years old and disappeared at the same time as the dinosaurs, over 65 million years ago.

However, let’s limit ourselves to more recent time periods.

Gourville is located in Beauce on the border of the Hurepoix region. Archeologists have revealed traces of nomadic life (silex) in the surrounding area (Prunay), dating back up to 500,000 years (Paleolithic). At that time, the Beauce region had more of a “tundra” climate, but, with the warming and humidity, trees (oaks) started forming immense forests. Sedentary dwellings were certainly present on Gourville’s estate (Mesolithic about 10,000 years before JC) with main resources for the period inhabitants provided through hunting aurochs or deer. Inhabited caves from this time period were discovered in a mound located under the current Rochefort Golf Club in Yvelines (15 km from Gourville). Subsequently, the inhabitants deforested the area once they realized that the soil was particularly fertile and started cultivating  emmer wheat, barley, emmer, and even flaxseed (mid-Neolithic era approximately 3,500 years before JC : Visit the Auneau Archeological Excavation Site, 5 km away from Gourville !). However, hunting wild boars, stags and beavers also constituted an important food source. 

The Villas

It would appear that the first organised populating in Beauce was achieved by the Carnutes, of Celtic origins, who had left traces of their existence as far back as some 600 years before JC. The druids, the golden sickles, the tree houses built to welcome the bards (was there not one at Gourville?) etc…, is folklore which can all be traced back to the Carnutes. In fact, we have very little information on this society before the Roman period, for which they were renowned for being violently opposed to Julius Caesar. Since Caesar knew how to write, we know approximately what transpired during that time. Even to this day, after the harvest, a bird’s eye view of the plains of Beauce allows one to witness the remains of the foundations of the Gallic farms and Roman villas (photos here included were taken from small tourism aircrafts). The villas are ancient Carnute Gallic farms rebuilt with tile roofing and purer geometrical shapes. One of the specialists of these aerial archeological photos is Daniel Jalmain, once principal of the Collège Juliette Adam of Gif-sur-Yvette where Marlyse taught, in the 70s (1970 that is, let us not mistake which millennium!).

Trace de villa

Foundation of a Roman Villa Photographed From a Plane Flying Above the Wheat Fields of the Beauce Region During the Summer Harvests.

A villa existed near a water source, at the bottom of a glen in present day Gourville. Unfortunately, the existing constructions, the proximity of the highway and the nearby wooded areas have made taken shots untransferable to photo. This position is located at the crossing of two Romans roads:  Chartres-Lutetia and Laon-Orléans.  A small Roman garrison watched the passage ways and ensured peace and order.

Coins Stamped for the Millennium Anniversary of the Founding of Rome (Near the Year 250) and Found Near the Foundations of the Villas in the Region.

Excavations have resulted in the discovery of Roman monetary coins (see the impressive array of coins discovered at Ouarville and near Gourville, stamped for the millennium celebrations of the founding of Rome in 753 BC: these coins had thus circulated in the Beauce region near the end of the 3rd century and have proven the existence of a Roman presence on this area).

The Goths

Roman peace (“Pax Romana”) lasted a few centuries. During the 4th century, more and more immigrants from central Europe were fleeing the Asian invaders, the most famous being Attila and the Huns. Facing the substantial challenges in maintaining border cohesion (power struggle in Rome, military anarchy), the Romans authorised certain migrants to settle on the Gaule territory in exchange for various services, such as keeping limes, or by buying their neutrality (for example, theVisigoths sacked Rome in 410: Rome paid for their departure by offering the Aquitaine region), acts referred today as partnership agreements.

Today, many communes in Beauce can trace back the origins of their names from this period of barbaric invasions (in general:  invasion = immigration and barbaric = non Christian). Hence, the Alans arrived at the beginning of the 5th century AD: where one can now find the Allainville commune, 15 km away from Gourville.  All signs indicate that a group of Goths settled in an encampment vacated at the time of the Romans’ departure hence the name of Gohervilla, Hogervilla, Guntherii, and Gourville. The date of this settlement would be at the end of the 4th century.

The County of Chartres 

These invasions, both peaceful and violent, ended during the 5th century, with the establishment of the Frankish Kingdom. From this point on until the establishment of the French departments at the end of the 18th century, Gourville will share its history with the county of Chartres: the counties were geographical divisions, already in existence under the Romans, which played an important role in the Merovingian dynasty and subsequently. As king’s representatives in the city, counts held administrative, judiciary, financial, and sometimes military powers.

Upon his death in 511 AD, the county of Chartres was bequeathed from Clovis to one of his sons, Chlodomer (Clodomir). Subsequently, count-owners succeeded each other, often following the use of assassination to simplify the order of succession, a practise which lasted until Charlemagne who restored order within the cacophony of incompetent leaders. However after his death the chaos started up again, until 872, at which time the Normans, led by the Duke of Hastings, took the city of Chartres. Following this, Rollo the Dane took it over, all before the era of Theobald the Trickster (940) which we will discuss later.

Gourville, at the Frontier of the Carnutes and the Parisii

Le péage des carnutes/parisii dans sa version du XXIe siècle !

The Toll Booth of Carnutes/Parisii in its 21st Century Version!

Gourville was spared the unrest within Chartres, due to its location within the limits of the land of the Carnutes, near the Parisii border (known today as being between the Eure-et-Loir (28) and Yvelines (78) departments), and  Orléans to the South, sister enemy of Chartres for over 1,000 years.

Gourville lies near the Montfort Seigneury as well as that of Rochefort to the East. To the North of Gourville was the Aquilina Forest, then Yvelines Forest, now known today as the Forest of Rambouillet. Not far from Rochefort lays the Royal Domain of Dourdan. Here, we must relate the story of the death of St-Arnoul, an interesting anecdote about the “recent” highway toll booth of St-Arnoult-in-Yvelines, one of the most important in the world, where two great road axes meet, known in the past as Lutetia-Carnutum and Lutetia-Cenabum, now Paris- Chartres and Paris-Orléans.

Arnoul

Bannière de Saint Arnoul martyr

The Banner of Saint-Arnoul the Martyr.

Arnoul, Bishop of Tours, was the nephew and confidant of Clovis and spent a lot of time with him in Soissons, where he was assassinated in the year 534. 

As he had expressed the desire to be buried in his diocese of Tours, his mortal remains were transported by the caring hands of his servants and his spouse, Scariberge, towards his final resting place. Approximately ten kilometers from Gourville, the horses stubbornly refused to move forward:  this was believed to be a sign from God and he was thus buried on the spot, where the town known today as Saint-Arnoult-en-Yvelines was established, head city in the district of Gourville.

Another, more pragmatic version of this story exists. This one states that the remains of the Bishop were to cross a toll border from the land of Parisii, in order to enter that of the Carnutes. As the crew of horses and carriages were prestigious (not only did Arnoul come from money and was very close to Clovis, he was also known for his numerous miracles), the toll requested was thus quite steep. During the long negotiations, the servants took off, leaving Scariberge by herself. To avoid further decomposition, the body of the deceased was buried on the spot. An interesting publication (Association Historique de St-Arnoult-en-Yvelines) was written by Jean-Claude and Marie-Josèphe Houssinot on this subject.

The Carnutes’ toll still exists in the 21st century (and is still almost as costly …).

Historique

Les origines de la terre de Gourville

Ammonites ramassées dans les champs au début des années 1900.

Ammonites ramassées dans les champs au début des années 1900.

Si Gourville avait existé voici 30 millions d’années, c’eût été une station balnéaire : en effet, la mer arrivait jusqu’au gué de Longroi,  à quelques kilomètres d’ici. On pourrait même remonter plus haut dans le temps, puisque des ammonites ont été ramassées autrefois  par les cultivateurs lors des labourages de terres calcaires, non loin de Gourville. Les ammonites (gros coquillages marins fossilisés) remontent à plus de 100 millions d’années et ont disparu en même temps que les dinosaures, il y a 65 millions d’années.

Mais  limitons-nous aux époques récentes.

Gourville est situé en Beauce, à la limite du Hurepoix. Les archéologues ont relevé dans les proches environs (Prunay) des traces  de nomadisme (silex) pouvant remonter à 500.000 ans (paléolothique). A l’époque, la Beauce avait l’aspect d’une « toundra », puis, avec le réchauffement et l’humidité, les arbres (chênes) y formèrent une immense forêt. L’habitation sédentaire avec pour ressources principales  la chasse à l’auroch ou au chevreuil (mésolithique vers 10.000 ans avant JC) est certaine sur la terre de Gourville. Des grottes habitées à cette époque ont été découvertes dans la butte située sous l’actuel golf de Rochefort en Yvelines (15 km de Gourville). Ultérieurement, les habitants déboisèrent lorsqu’ils se rendirent compte  que le sol était particulièrement fertile,  mirent en culture et produisirent  du blé amidonnier, de l’orge, de l’engrain, et même du lin (néolithique moyen vers 3500 ans avant JC : visitez les fouilles archéologiques d’Auneau, à 5 km de Gourville !).  Mais la chasse  au sanglier, cerf, castor constituait aussi une importante source d’alimentation.

Les villae

Il semble que le premier peuplement organisé en Beauce ait été celui des Carnutes, d’origine celte, qui ont laissé des traces à partir de 600 avant JC. Les druides, les serpes d’or, les cabanes dans les arbres pour accueillir les bardes (n’y en avait-il pas une à Gourville ?) etc…, tout ce folklore viendrait des Carnutes. Le fait est qu’on a très peu d’informations sur eux avant la période romaine, où ils ont brillé pour s’être violemment opposés à Jules César. Et comme Jules savait écrire, nous savons à peu près ce qui s’est passé. Toujours est-il qu’aujourd’hui, après les récoltes,  les plaines de la Beauce permettent de voir depuis le ciel (les photos ci-jointes ont été prises à partir de petits avions de tourisme) des restes de fondations de fermes gauloises et de villae romaines. Ces villae sont d’ anciennes fermes gauloises carnutes reconstruites en dur avec des toits de tuile et des formes  géométriques plus pures . L’un des spécialistes de ces photos aériennes archéologiques est Daniel  Jalmain, ancien principal du collège Juliette Adam de Gif sur Yvette où enseignait Marlyse, dans les années 70 (1970, ne nous trompons pas de millénaire !).

Trace de villa

Fondation d’une villa romaine photographie par avion dans les champs de blé beaucerons après les récoltes d’été

Une villa existait près d’une source , au creux d’un vallon, dans un lieu dit que nous nommons aujourd’hui Gourville. Malheureusement, les constructions existantes, l’autoroute proche, les bois font que les recherches aériennes n’ont pas  permis de faire des clichés exploitables. Cet emplacement était situé au croisement de deux voies romaines : Chartres-Lutèce et Laon-Orléans.  Une petite garnison romaine  surveillait les passages et veillait au maintien de l’ordre.

Pièces frappées à l’occasion du millième anniversaire de la fondation de Rome (vers l’an 250) et trouvées près des fondations des villae de la région.

Les fouilles  ont permis de découvrir des pièces de monnaie romaines (voir les très belles pièces découvertes à Ouarville et  près de Gourville, frappées à l’occasion du millénaire de la fondation de Rome en 753 avant JC : ces pièces ont donc circulé en Beauce vers la fin du IIIe siècle et démontrent l’existence d’une vie romaine sur le site).

Les Goths

La paix romaine (« pax romana ») dura quelques siècles. Au IVe siècle, les immigrants de plus en plus nombreux en provenance  d’Europe centrale  fuyaient devant les envahisseurs asiatiques dont le plus célèbre fut Attila et ses Huns, au début des années 400. Devant les difficultés énormes à maintenir la cohésion des frontières (crise du pouvoir à Rome, anarchie militaire), les Romains  proposèrent à certains de ces migrants ce que nous appellerions aujourd’hui des formules de partenariat, autorisant leur implantation sur le territoire de la Gaule en échange de services divers, tels que garder les limes ou achetant même leur neutralité (par exemple, les Wisigoths ont mis Rome à sac en 410 : Rome acheta leur départ en leur offrant l’Aquitaine).

Il y a aujourd’hui de nombreuses communes en Beauce dont le nom remonte à cette époque des invasions barbares ( généralement :  invasion =  immigration et barbare = non chrétien) . Ainsi, les Alains sont arrivé au début des années 400 : d’où le nom de la commune d’Allainville, à 15 km de Gourville.  Tout porte à penser qu’un groupe de  Goths s’installa dans le campement laissé vacant au départ des Romains d’où le nom de Gohervilla, Hogervilla, Guntherii, Gourville. La date de cette implantation se situerait à la fin du Ive siècle.

Le comté de Chartres

Ces invasions, pacifiques ou non, prirent fin au Ve siècle, avec l’établissement des royaumes francs. A partir de ce moment, et jusqu’à l’instauration des départements à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, l’histoire de Gourville est celle du comté de Chartres : les comtés étaient des divisions géographiques, existant déjà chez les romains, qui jouèrent un rôle important dans la société mérovingienne et ultérieurement. Représentants du roi dans la cité, les comtes exerçaient le pouvoir administratif, judiciaire et financier, parfois militaire.
A la mort de Clovis, le pays chartrain revint à l’un de ses fils, Clodomir, puis des comtes- propriétaires se succédèrent,  utilisant volontiers l’assassinat pour simplifier l’ordre de succession. Jusqu’à Charlemagne, lequel mit un peu d’ordre dans cette cacophonie de dirigeants généralement peu compétents. Mais après lui, cela recommença, jusqu’en 872, date à laquelle les Normands, commandés par le duc Hastings, prirent la ville de Chartres. Par la suite, le Danois Rollon s’en empara , avant l’époque de Thibault le Tricheur (940) dont nous reparlerons plus loin.

Gourville, à la frontière des Carnutes et des Parisii

Le péage des carnutes/parisii dans sa version du XXIe siècle !

Le péage des carnutes/parisii dans sa version du XXIe siècle !

Gourville était  à l’écart des turbulences chartraines, en raison de sa situation en limite du pays des Carnutes, près de la frontière des Parisii (aujourd’hui on dirait entre Eure-et-Loir et Yvelines, ou 28 et 78 sur les plaques minéralogiques)…Avec au Sud Orléans, sœur ennemie  de Chartres pendant plus de 1000 ans.

Gourville jouxtait la seigneurie de Montfort au nord et celle de Rochefort à l’Est. Au Nord est, la forêt de l’Aquilina, devenue forêt d’Yveline, aujourd’hui forêt de Rambouillet. Non loin de Rochefort, le domaine royal de Dourdan. Ici, il nous  faut conter l’histoire du décès de St Arnoul,  une anecdote intéressante à propos du « récent » péage autoroutier de St Arnoult en Yvelines, l’un des plus importants du monde, où se joignent les deux grands axes anciennement Lutèce-Carnotum et Lutèce-Cenabum,  devenus Paris- Chartres et Paris- Orléans.

Arnoul

Bannière de Saint Arnoul martyr

Bannière de Saint Arnoul martyr

L’évêque de Tours Arnoul, marié à Scariberge, neveu et confident de Clovis,  passa beaucoup de temps avec ce dernier à Soissons, où il fut assassiné en l’an 534.

Comme il avait   exprimé le vœu d’être enterré dans son diocèse de Tours, sa dépouille mortelle  fut transportée par les bons soins de ses serviteurs et de son épouse vers sa sépulture. A une dizaine de kilomètres de Gourville, les chevaux refusèrent obstinément d’avancer :  on y vit un signe de Dieu et on l’enterra sur place, d’où la fondation du bourg qui se nomme aujourd’hui Saint-Arnoult en Yvelines,  chef lieu du canton de Gourville.

Outre cette version céleste et officielle, il y en a une autre : à la frontière du pays des Parisii, pour entrer chez les Carnutes, il fallait payer un péage, et comme l’équipage était prestigieux (non seulement Arnoul était fortuné et très proche de Clovis, mais il était également connu pour ses nombreux  miracles),  la somme demandée fut très élevée. Pendant les longues négociations, les serviteurs prirent la poudre d’escampette, et Scariberge se retrouva toute seule. Pour éviter sa décomposition, le corps du défunt mari fut  enterré  sur place. Un intéressant ouvrage (Association Historique de St Arnoult en Yvelines) a été écrit par Jean-Claude et Marie-Josèphe Houssinot sur le sujet.

Le péage des Carnutes existe donc encore au XXIe siècle (toujours aussi onéreux …).