Gourville During the 10th Century

Thibaud le Tricheur

Theobald I the Trickster.

In the 10th century, the region is marked by the presence of Theobald 1st, Count of Blois, commonly referred to as Theobald the Trickster. History shows that he wore his name well, and many were those, including the future king of France, Hugh Capet, who let out a sigh of relief at the time of his death in 977.

Initially a vassal to the duke of the Franks, Hugh the Great (the father of Hugh Capet), Theobald 1st provided numerous services to the duke, including keeping King Louis IV in custody for a year. Upon the death of Hugh the Great, and during the time that his son Capet was still a minor, he emancipated himself of his suzerain and proclaimed himself the Count of Chartres “by the grace of God” in 960.  As he was married to Luitgarde of Vermandois in 945 (Leutgarde, or Letgarde) which gave him the counties of Provins and of Champagne, the royal domain was cornered by the lands of Theobald the Trickster, which all became very dangerous for the throne. However, as with many conquerors, he did not know when to stop: having attacked the Normans of Richard the 1st in Evreux and Rouen, they, in retaliation, burnt down Chartres (962).

Theobald then appropriated himself with the lands of the city of Chartres which belonged to the Saint-Père-en-Vallée Abbey, and had a fortified castle built.

After his death in 977, Countess Luitgarde donated many of the county’s estates to the abbey, no doubt to compensate for the petty territorial land grabs of Theobald, and to ensure that she, as well as her husband, would be in good standing with the grace of Heaven (she died in 982 and was interred in the crypt of the Saint-Père Church). The donation in 981 of the Gourville lands (over 500 hectares according to estimates of the abbey’s cartulary) fits into this logic: it was not a pitiful donation, as this land was, and still is, very fertile (we know today that the thickness of the silt on the plateau in the hamlet south of Gourville surpasses one meter). For that matter, giving the ecclesiastics a strip of land located at the limit of the Parisii and of the king’s vassal lords, with whom relations had often been strenuous, seemed to have resulted from a smart political strategy which would ensure to the county relative peace to the East of Chartres.

Gourville au Xe siècle

Thibaud le Tricheur

Thibaud le Tricheur

Le Xe siècle dans la région est marqué par la personnalité de Thibaud 1er de Blois, dit Thibaud le Tricheur. L’histoire a montré qu’il portait bien son nom et nombreux furent ceux, dont le futur roi de France Hugues Capet, qui poussèrent un ouf de soulagement à sa mort en 977.

Initialement vassal du duc des Francs,  Hugues le Grand (le père d’ Hugues Capet), Il rend à ce dernier de nombreux services, dont celui de conserver en captivité pendant un an le roi Louis IV. Profitant de la mort d’Hugues , et pendant la minorité de son fils Capet, il s’émancipe de son suzerain et se proclame comte de Chartres  « par la grâce de Dieu » (960). Comme il a épousé en 945  Liutgarde (Leutgarde, ou Letgarde) qui lui a apporté le comté de Provins et le comté de Champagne, le domaine royal est  pris en tenaille par les terres de  Thibaud le Tricheur, lequel devient dangereux pour la couronne. Mais, comme souvent les conquérants, il ne sait pas s’arrêter :  ayant attaqué les Normands de Richard 1er à Evreux et Rouen, ceux-ci en représailles brûlent Chartres (962).

Thibaud s’approprie alors de terrains dans la ville de Chartres qui appartiennent à l’abbaye de Saint-Père en Vallée, et y fait édifier un puissant château fortifié.

Après sa mort en 977 la comtesse Liutgarde fit don à cette même abbaye de plusieurs domaines appartenant au comté, sans doute pour compenser les larcins territoriaux de Thibaud, et pour s’assurer les bonnes grâces du ciel pour son âme et celle de feu son mari. (elle décéda en 982  et fut inhumée dans la crypte de l’église de Saint-Père).  La donation en 981 de la terre de Gourville (plus de 500 hectares selon les estimations du cartulaire de l’abbaye) entre dans cette logique : il ne s’agissait pas d’un don misérable, car cette terre était, et est toujours, très fertile (nous savons aujourd’hui que l’épaisseur de limon sur le plateau au sud du hameau de Gourville dépasse un mètre). Par ailleurs, céder aux ecclésiastiques une bande de terre située à la limite des Parisii et  des seigneurs vassaux du roi, avec lesquels les relations avaient souvent été très tendues,  résultait d’une stratégie politique intelligente et assurait au comté  un relatif calme à l’est de Chartres.